The One with All the Chicken

fullsizerender-10

I thought I was busy in the day-to-day life with two toddlers under 3 but man, was I mistaken!! Now that I have my third sweet babe things have gotten crazier. It’s not that it’s more hectic, just that the kids now outnumber me, the baby wants all the snuggles and the two older ones take advantage of not having my undivided attention to run amok through the house.

Needless to say, dinner time has become crazy!! Thankfully, it’s the off-season for my husband and he’s no longer at football practice until all hours. When he’s home we can usually tackle dinner and all 3 kids with minimal fuss–as long as the meals are quick and easy! Meal planning, which I did sporadically previously, has now become a necessity. I don’t have time, or the brain cells left at the end of the day, to think about a delicious and nutritious meal every.single.day. I  have a few meals in my repertoire that I can make easily and know the kids will put up minimal fuss about-so few and far between these days. My Crock Pot Chicken and Rice is one of them. So easy and flavorful!

And while we are slightly on the subject—Oh, how I love my crock pot!! All you have to do is put the ingredients in, wait a few hours and voila!—Dinner! I can usually throw these together while the older two are eating lunch and the babe is snuggled in the Ergo.

You can find the recipe below:

fullsizerender-11

Chicken Breast & Cream of Chicken Soup Substitute

 

Ingredients:

Homemade Cream of Chicken Substitute (I found the recipe on Pinterest here.)
1 lb Chicken (I typically use tenders since they cook faster)
2 tsp each of Onion powder, Garlic powder, Cumin
Salt and Pepper to taste
1 can of corn/frozen bag (optional)
1-2 cups shredded Cheddar Cheese
1 small bag of yellow rice

img_2001

Yellow Rice (cooked)

 

Instructions:

  • Place chicken in crock pot and top with onion powder, garlic powder, cumin, salt and pepper.
  • Make Cream of Chicken Substitute according to directions.
  • Pour Cream of Chicken on top of chicken tenders.
  • Cook on low for 2-3 hours. (If using chicken thighs or breast, adjust time according to thickness)
  • Shred chicken and return to crock pot.
  • Add corn and cheese and stir.
  • Cook rice on stove top according to directions.
  • Pour rice into crock pot and mix everything together until well incorporated.
img_1999

Shredded Chicken with Cheddar Cheese

 

And that’s it! Really easy. You can always adjust the ingredients in the recipe to meet your dietary needs. I usually serve green beans, peas or a salad as a side. You could even add some broccoli right in there with it all!
Try it out and let me know what you think in the comments!

One thought on “The One with All the Chicken

Leave a Reply

